New Year’s challenges

It’s interesting that people’s New Year’s resolutions are spreading on social media. I came across Mark Zuckerberg’s New Year “challenge” open discussionVery inspirational to read. 

One of his past challenges was “Meeting one new person who doesn’t work at Facebook every day“. Is this practical? Is it very meaningful to make the world better? Is it worth of his time?

Meeting new people is not difficult, however to know a new person and to really care about the new person is challenging. If I was a writer, this would be a brilliant way to collect stories. If I was a politician, this would be a brilliant way to know people’s life in the country. If I was a photographer, it would be a brilliant way to seize the moment. I wonder if he persists the challenges in the past years or just acted them in one year? Sometimes persistence is a challenge too. Obviously, he practises Mandarin over the years.

From my readings, the ideas that I have learnt about setting goals might be useful for you too. 

First, we can make challenges/resolutions in any day of the year. Any day could be the first day or a milestone of our resolution. You might already noticed that more people in the gym in January, the squash centre becomes busier in January, more people jogging along the lake at the beginning of the year… So you don’t have to start your resolutions from the first week of the New year. As long as you decide to take action, any day could be the first day of your new year.

Second, with a light heart of our challenges but review them often. Don’t say I accept that I am not good at that. Say I am trying a new way of doing it and it makes me see my own value.

Anyway, a bit of funny idea, he could meet me who doesn’t work at Facebook and speak to me in Mandarin. 

Leave a Reply

